Rebel Angel in Quest of Moral Compass by Nick Cooke

Bugger buggery buggeration

 

I have lost me m.c.

………………somewhere in the cracks of time

and tomorrow morning I will be called

…..to account for me possessions

 

…..and when I’m forced to admit me lapse

………………as the rules stand I could be ejected

on the spot, cast out like

……………………………………….that fallen angel who might soon be

me new guvnor if I don’t watch

……me step

 

I half suspect

…..someone nabbed it

……….while I slept

……………..someone in His pay

 

trouble is

…..without the fucker itself

the will to track it down

………gradually recedes

 

it’s a kind of vicious circle

…………that’s pretty bloody vicious

you start to be glad

….your m.c.’s gone

……….you feel a freedom

wasn’t there before

 

*

 

Bastard bastardy bastardisation

 

I’m out on me ear

 

………………………St Peter was mortified

by me attitude and choice of vocabulary

………………………………….as much as me carelessness

and I didn’t even get the chance to pack

……so it can’t really be said

….he sent me packing

 

……………….I fell through the air

……..as a wrecked ship through water

I’m still waiting

………………to hit the bottom

…….and I was told it’s a bottomless pit

so am not holding me breath

 

if this is the deal

………….I’m glad I’m out

I may have lost me m.c.

…….but gained me s.-r.

so fuck those

……Elysian Fields

……..and welcome the fall

The Fall

 

…………………I still suspect

someone nabbed the thing

………..but whoever the tealeaf is

he’s probably so thick

…………………he’s flashing it round

….alongside his rightful one

like an athlete

…….with two gold medals

and he’ll soon be falling

………….alongside me

……or at least not far behind

 

time was

……I’d have felt sorry for him

for getting led astray

……………but not now

……..not now

 

the stupid cunt

 

*

 

Sod Sodomy Sodomisation

 

………………….I have betrayed me brother

sacrificed his soul

……….for the chance of getting out

I was offered this option

by a door-to-door salesman

……who said I must know his name

as he used to be famous

…..or it may have been notorious

 

………………I asked him for a new m.c.

in return for me soul

……….but he made very clear

it don’t work like that bro

 

……………………an m.c without a soul

is like a ship with no rudder

….heading for an iceberg

 

don’t know what he had

…..against my brother

probably nothing

probably it was random

…..could have been anyone close to me

but there’s something about a brother

………that’s why we call them brothers

 

………………but it was him or me

down here for ever

…..so what could I do

what would you do

……………be honest now

One thought on “Rebel Angel in Quest of Moral Compass by Nick Cooke

Leave a Reply

