A Poem for Frank Postmodernly by Jim Lawrence

So I was writing or trying to write a poem riffing on Frank O’Hara’s style (I remember Peter Lawson telling us Frank’s dune buggy crash was ‘a pretty camp death’)just jotting it down off the top of my head in my BAZINGA! notebook that Meredith gave me for a Xmas gift in 2015 or maybe a year or two earlier (memory is so unreliable) but giving it a self-reflexive twist at the end not having anything personal or political or Objectivist or Imagist to write about and because I like his poems and even his essay Personism: a Manifesto which I skimmed when studying postmodern American poetry at university and which I at least understood unlike that Charles Olson essay on Projective Verse or anything about the L=A=N=G=U=A=G=E Poets and what they are getting up to these days and thinking about Anne Waldman putting makeup on empty space when I realised I didn’t have a convincing way to end the poem. I’ll post it in the online poetry group anyway.

One thought on “A Poem for Frank Postmodernly by Jim Lawrence

Leave a Reply

