Ghost In Daylight by Matt Duggan

Twice I have walked

beside blue stones

where a breeze paused,

 

divided

by the space of cloud and rain.

 

At first I thought I saw

two butterflies

weaving in a figure eight –

a translucent line of dancing ghosts

outlined by the whirls of moving leaves.

 

I looked for other mortal eyes

a witness to these ghosts

dancing in the daylight,

I only saw clouds shaped like shell-less langoustines

with the sound of passing time

collecting the precious and paused seconds of a life long gone.

Leave a Reply

