Making the Monster by Oonah V Joslin

Now Mr. Frankenstein

………………Adam is my name. No father watched my infant days
………………and no Eve soothes my sorrows.

After multiple transplants such as yours
one might expect mood swings
hair loss, weight gain;
almost anything.

………………Where are my friends and relations?
………………Even Satan had fellow-devils to encourage him.

I know you suffered
initial rejection
but the thing is you survived;
you’re alive.

………………I am solitary and detested.
………………Even you turn from me in disgust.

Your body parts should have rejected
each other long ago
yet here you are, sewn into this modern world,
preserved by the potent pill of popularity.

……………..Of what strange nature is knowledge;
……………..it clings to the mind when it has once seized on it

You have engendered horror, fascination and empathy.
Science created the monster but we gave it oxygen;
allowed it to thrive and grow and reproduce
cloned in our own image;

………………like a lichen on the rock.
………………My form is but a filthy type of yours

in paper and celluloid
in photons and pixels,
we generated an acceptance
of damage done to the soul.

………………yet when I heard details of vice and bloodshed,
………………even I turned away with disgust and loathing.

Things
worse than death;
the mind tearing apart;
the slow decay of all feeling.

………………Cold the stars shine
………………in mockery above me.

And I think Mary knew
as all Mary’s do
she had conceived
of immortality.

………….CURSED, cursed creator!

 

 

Acknowledgement: All the words spoken by the monster in this poem were given to him by his creator, Mary Shelley.

3 thoughts on “Making the Monster by Oonah V Joslin

  1. Pingback: Making the Monster by Oonah V Joslin | Parallel Oonahverse

  2. Pingback: January’s End • New Beginnings and a resolution for you | Parallel Oonahverse

Leave a Reply

