Today Birdcage Walk – 14:07 by Myriam San Marco

Shut up shut up shut up

 

All together now.
What do we want?

Freedom.

When do we want it?
Now.

Freedom.

Now.

 

Shut up shut up shut up shut up

 

Grinning excited moonstruck children. Singing marching blood is pumping. Sweaty palms and faces dishevelled. Ahhh the rush

 

Shut up shut up shut up shut up shut up

 

All together now
PUSH
what do we want?
PUSH
when do we want it?
PUSH
Now
PUSH

 

Shut up shut up shut up shut up shut up shut up

 

Bumbling adrenaline. Petrol-bombed flowers. Shoulder-elbow-thrust into barriers, helmets, batons, shields.

 

Shut up shut up shut up shut up shut up shut up SHUT UP!

 

Grinning excited moonstruck children singing marching blood is pumping

Sweaty  palms  faces  dishevelled  Ahhh  the  rush  onwards  and  upwards

Rebellious toy soldiers clamour we breathe Carpe Diem music everywhere

Capture the flag the moment the one shot the fracas and

 

PUSH

 

As I fumble-throw my petrol flowers out and away I know I’m in your red-dotted sights

As I bite-steal one kiss from under your castle walls I know you have cashed me out

As I believed-denied zeitgeist was passing me by I now know there is only Today

 

Snapped in half bent over one-two-three flurry impact coerce me to my knees my chest my head look around there is no one there so hot my head is on fire you threw boiling water at me did you my hands numb so raw icy snow drifting down drip-drip-drip I think no pain no gain no more snappy demon doubts drip-drip-drip engulfed by the paving stones as I lay me down to sleep drip-drip-drip I pray the Lord my soul to keep drip-drip If I shall die before I wake drip-drip-drip

One thought on “Today Birdcage Walk – 14:07 by Myriam San Marco

Leave a Reply

