Today Artillery Lane – 6:55 by Myriam Sn Marco

Universities across the country have been subject to unprecedented levels of violence from the police, targeting a resurgent wave of activism against the privatisation of the university system.

 ..

Waiting for the sunshine to stroke your face

Waiting for your eyes to open

Waiting for Today to punch in

..

Reaching for coffee

Reaching for clothes

Reaching for volume

Eager, intent, up

..

He looks at me standing, naked

Come back to bed, he says

I’d like to see you burn

..

A ‘National Day of Action’ has been called today. The event currently has more than 1 million confirmed attendees on social media, with students set to travel to London from all over the UK.

..

In the space before I wake, I soar – Limitless

In the shape before you speak, I glide – Impervious

In the breath before That Day, I dreamt – Unfettered

..

I look at you but you don’t see me

I reach for you but you don’t hold me

I yearn for you but you don’t need me

Whisper, silent, hurt

..

I look at you standing – naked

You perch on the windowsill…

Who needs a bed?

..

One thought on “Today Artillery Lane – 6:55 by Myriam Sn Marco

Leave a Reply

